Texas Flag

Getting The Law On Your Side

  1. Home
  2.  » 
  3. Uncategorized
  4.  » What might happen to drivers who are charged with DWI

What might happen to drivers who are charged with DWI

| Aug 5, 2020 | Uncategorized

Those who drink even a single alcoholic beverage may be too impaired to drive. In the state of Texas, a person who is charged with drunk driving may face significant penalties such as a fine, jail time or a drivers license suspension. A person who fails to take a blood or breath test during a traffic stop could lose his or her license for 180 days.

If a police officer discovers an open container of alcohol in a vehicle, the driver of that vehicle may be fined up to $500. Passengers may also be subject to a fine of up to $500. An individual may be charged with child endangerment if he or she operates a motor vehicle while impaired while transporting passengers under the age of 15. If convicted of that charge, a defendant might be fined up to $10,000 and spend up to two years in a state jail.

Those who are involved in a traffic stop are encouraged to have their license and insurance information ready to present to the officers who approach their vehicles. Individuals may be able to avoid drunk or impaired driving by calling a cab or designating a driver before leaving home. In addition, motorists should know that they can be charged with a DWI if they are under the influence of any controlled substance.

A person who is convicted of a DWI may experience a significant disruption to their life. This is because losing a drivers license may make it hard to retain a job or take care of a child. Furthermore, paying thousands of dollars in fines may make it difficult to pay rent or other bills. A criminal defense attorney may be able to help a person negotiate a plea deal or have a case dismissed before it goes to trial.