Frequent DWI Questions

On Behalf of | Oct 13, 2022 | Criminal Defense, Drug Charges, DWI Defense

The Texas Department of Transportation states that a citizen of the state is hurt or killed in a crash where alcohol is involved every twenty minutes. Driving while intoxicated is a grave criminal offense in Texas. In recent years, the legal penalties associated with DWIs have increased and become harsher to lower the number of injuries and deaths caused by people driving while intoxicated.

What does it mean to drive while intoxicated?

In Texas, a person drives while intoxicated (DWI) when they operate a motor vehicle in a public place and have impaired mental or physical faculties due to alcohol, drugs or both. The minimum concentration of alcohol in your blood (BAC) must be 0.08% to be legally intoxicated.

Is BAC the only test used to determine intoxication?

No. Even if your BAC is below .08, you may still be intoxicated if your faculties are impaired. Administering other tests, such as the field sobriety tests conducted by law enforcement during a traffic stop, can also determine whether you are intoxicated.

What are the most common DWI penalties for adults?

While each case is different and the penalties imposed after a DWI vary from person to person, if convicted of a first DWI offense:

  • You can receive a fine of up to $2,000
  • You may face jail time between 3 and 180 days
  • The state can suspend your driving privileges
  • You may be required to install an ignition interlock device
  • You may have to attend DWI education classes

The penalties associated with DWI in Texas become harsher if it is a second or third offense. You can be prosecuted for other crimes if a child under 15 is in the vehicle or if your impairment causes an accident leading to injury or death.

Nobody wants to think about facing the consequences of a DWI, so it is always best to prevent it by not driving while intoxicated. It is difficult to determine the alcohol level in an individual’s blood at any given time, so it may be a good idea to consider alternative transportation options, such as ride-sharing services, for individuals who want to consume alcohol without risking a DWI.