DWI Charges Require Experienced Representation
Getting behind the wheel after having a drink is a mistake that many people have made. I am Phil Morin, and most of the clients I work with don’t understand their options and are unsure of how to move forward. At Phil Morin Law Firm PLLC, I have been helping clients throughout Texas since 2004. I have the experience needed to defend against the charges you are facing.
What You Can Expect
I am a certified Standardized Field Sobriety Testing (SFST) administrator, which gives me an in-depth understanding of the law. I can look at your case and determine the best way to build your defense. This includes challenging test results after a police officer makes a mistake. Police often make illegal stops or make mistakes when administering blood alcohol content (BAC) tests. Even if you think you may be guilty, you should not assume that before talking with a knowledgeable attorney.
A driving while intoxicated (DWI) conviction can have a major impact on your future. If you drive a vehicle for a living, it can change the course of your career. It can also influence jobs you may want later in life. The state has to prove that you were driving while intoxicated. It is my job to make that as difficult as possible for them to do. I will not stop until I reach the best solution for your situation.
I Can Help – Call Today
Talking to an attorney is always in your best interests. I am here to help you find the light at the end of the tunnel. To discuss your case, call my office in Pearland today at 281-975-5924 or fill out this contact form.
Frequently Asked Questions
Speaking to an attorney immediately after being arrested for a DWI is necessary, but you may have some questions beforehand. Please see the answers to frequently asked questions about DWI charges below.
What is the difference between DWI and DUI in Texas?
DUI stands for driving under the influence and is an offense that can only be charged against drivers under the age of 21.
DWI stands for driving while intoxicated and can be charged against any driver who is intoxicated from alcohol or any other substance or has a BAC level of above .08%. This charge can also include drivers under the age of 21.
Will your license automatically be suspended if you are arrested for DWI?
Your license suspension will depend on the actions you take following your arrest. Texas grants you 15 days to contest the automatic suspension. If you request a hearing during that time, your license will not face suspension until a judge orders it. If you miss the 15-day deadline, your license will automatically be suspended on the 40th day after your arrest for 90 days.
In most cases, you will be able to obtain an occupational driver’s license. An occupational driver’s license will enable you to drive to work and/or school or take care of essential household errands.
Will a DWI stay on your permanent record?
In Texas, a DWI conviction will remain on your record for the rest of your life unless it is expunged or pardoned. However, with the assistance of an experienced attorney, it is sometimes possible to get a DWI charge dismissed or reduced to a lesser traffic violation.